Uncategorized

SLOWING DOWN: TOURISM AND LEISURE SCHOLARSHIP AND PRACTICE IN THE ERA OF THE ANTHROPOCENE (2nd edition)

The Geographies of Leisure and Tourism Research Group (GLTRG) welcomes you to join a co-sponsored online Symposium on June 19 and June 20 2024. This is the second edition of the Symposium the GLTRG organizes in collaboration with Tourism Education Future Initiative (TEFI) and Tourism RESET.

The Symposium features a series of thematic sessions led by distinguished scholars and early career researchers in tourism geographies and critical tourism studies to reflect on the existing and future challenges for tourism research and practice.

This is an open event – registrations can be done via Eventbrite

Details on the event schedule and speakers can be found below

DAY 1

TIMESESSIONSPEAKERS
11:00 – 11:15  EST time (16:00 – 16:15 GMT/UK time)Welcome Addressco-ordinating committee
11:15 – 11:45  EST time (16:15 – 16:45  GMT/UK time)Session 1:  The Slow Movement in Academia and Beyond  Dr Tijana Rakić (De Montfort University, UK) and Prof Kellee Caton (Thompson Rivers University, Canada)
11:45 – 12:15  EST time (16:45 – 17:15  GMT/UK time)Session 2: We are not ok   …100-120 word abstract to be added shortly…  Dr Stefanie Benjamin (University of Tennessee, Knoxville, USA), Dr Brendan Paddison (York St John University, UK), and Dr Karla Boluk (University of Waterloo, Canada)
12:15 – 12:30  EST time (17:15 – 17:30  GMT/UK time)Comfort Break
  12:30 – 13:00  EST time (17:30 – 18:00  GMT/UK time)  Session 3:  Nature Matters: a love leter to nature and a call to action to protect it  Dr Jenny Hall and Dr Brendan Paddison (York St John University, UK)

DAY 2

TIMESESSIONSPEAKERS
09:00 – 09:05  EST time (14:00 – 14:05  GMT/UK time)Chair’s WelcomeDr Tijana Rakić (De Montfort University, UK)
09:05 – 09:50 EST time (14:05-14:50  GMT/UK time)Session 4:  Reflecting on progress with UNWTO SDGs in times of crises    Dr Raymond Rastegar (Griffith University, Australia), Dr Alberto Amore (University of Oulu, Finland), Dr Karla Boluk (University of Waterloo, Canada) and Mahshad Akhoundoghli (University of Waterloo, Canada)
09:50 – 10:05  EST time (14:50 – 15:05  GMT/UK time)Comfort Break
10:05 – 10:50  EST time (15:00 – 15:50  GMT/UK time)Session 5:  Re-negotiating leisure, events and tourism in the age of Anthropocene  Dr Alberto Amore (University of Oulou, Finland), Dr Solène Prince (Linnaeus University, Sweden),
Dr Barbara Grabher (University of Brighton, UK), Dr Valeria Pecoreli (University of Iulm, Italy), and Dr Jenny Hall (York St John University, UK)
10:50 – 11:05 Eastern time (15:50 – 16:05  GMT/UK time)Comfort Break
  11:05 – 11:50 EST time (16:05 – 16:50  GMT/UK time)  Session 6:  The Dark Matters: an exploration of our relationship with the Dark Skies .  Dr Jenny Hall andDr Brendan Paddison (York St John University, UK)
11:50 – 12:05  EST time (16:50 – 17:05  GMT/UK time)Comfort Break
12:05 – 12:50  EST time (17:05 – 17:50  GMT/UK time)Session 7:   Degrowth in tourism and leisure: recalibrating the balance between people and environment Dr Christina Cavaliere (Colorado State University, USA), Prof Sandro Carnicelli (University of the West of Scotland, UK), and Dr Bailey Ashton Adie (University of Oulu, Finland)
  12:50 – 13:35  EST time (17:50 – 18:35  GMT/UK time)  Session 8: Where next?    Dr Stefanie Benjamin (University of Tennessee, Knoxville, USA) and Dr Karla Boluk (University of Waterloo, Canada)
13:35-13:50 EST time 18:35-18:50 GMT/UK timeComfort Break 
13:50-14:20 EST time (18:50 – 19:20  GMT/UK time)Yoga / Breathing SessionDr Nancy Stevenson (University of Westminster, UK)